Save the Date! On March 27th we will reveal the 2023-2024 Broadway Season. Register to attend here!


2022-2023 Orpheum High School Musical Theatre Awards Information and Guidelines

The Orpheum High School Musical Theatre Awards supports, promotes, and celebrates high school musical theatre throughout the Mid-South.  The program aims to provide access to arts education, create opportunities for self-expression, develop relationships between schools and the Orpheum, encourage collaboration, enhance excellence, build community, and instill a lifelong passion for the arts.

This year-long program invites students and schools to join a community of participating schools from a 150 mile radius in a variety of opportunities that meet each school where they are in providing access to arts education programming.

The program is part of the National High School Musical Theatre Awards, the Jimmy Awards, a program produced by The Broadway League that includes over 40 programs from across the country.

Each year, the program culminates in a celebration of the passion, dedication, and hard work of students and teachers involved in promoting musical theatre.  Participants gather at the historic Orpheum Theatre for an unforgettable night of performances and awards presentations.  Modeled after the Tony Awards, The Orpheum High School Musical Theatre Awards recognizes achievements in all areas of high school musical theatre and brings together hundreds of students from all over the region to share their talents and collaborate with one another.

SAVE THE DATE FOR THE 2023 Orpheum HSMTAs – Thursday, May 25, 2023.

In our 2022-2023 school year, we are thrilled to continue to offer new ways for students and schools to participate so please pay close attention to all information provided.

For more information about the program or if you have any questions, please contact Lena Wallace Black at

Applications Now Open for the Inspiring Teacher and Student Technical, Creative, and Stage Management Achievement Awards


For Information about the Inspiring Teacher Award

Click Here

For Information about the Student Technical, Creative, and Stage Management Achievement Awards
Click Here


As of March 2, 2023


Arlington High School | Seussical 

Bartlett High School | Hairspray 

Bolton High School | Non-Adjudicated Participant 

Briarcrest Christian School | Tuck Everlasting 

Cabot High School | Anything Goes 

Chester County High School | Freaky Friday 

Christian Brothers High School | The Robber Bridegroom 

Collierville High School | Anastasia 

Cordova High School | Sweeney Todd 

Crosstown High | Non-Adjudicated Participant 

East High School | Non-Adjudicated Participant 

Evangelical Christian School | Kiss Me, Kate 

Fayette Academy | The Addams Family School Edition 

First Assembly Christian School | The Wizard of Oz 

Germantown High School | The Addams Family- School Edition 

Harding Academy | The Sound of Music 

Harding Academy of Memphis | Freaky Friday 

Hernando High School | Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat 

Houston High School | Chicago: Teen Edition 

Hutchison | Cinderella 

Jackson Christian School | The Sound of Music 

KIPP Memphis Collegiate High School | Non-Adjudicated Participant 

Lausanne Collegiate School | Mamma Mia!  

Lewisburg High School | The Addams Family: School Edition 

Madison-Ridgeland Academy | Freaky Friday 

Memphis University School | The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee 

Milan High School | Beauty and the Beast 

Munford High School | Non-Adjudicated Participant 

New Albany High School | Oklahoma 

Northpoint Christian School | Annie 

Olive Branch High School | Sister Act  

Overton High School for the Creative and Performing Arts | The Wiz 

Ridgeway High School | Non-Adjudicated Participant 

Sacred Heart of Jesus High School | The Tempest 

Saint Agnes Academy | Newsies 

South Gibson County High School | Shrek, the Musical! 

Southaven High School | Emma 

St. Benedict at Auburndale | Into the Woods 

St. George's Independent School | Beauty and the Beast 

St. Mary's Episcopal School | The Sound of Music 

The Academies at Jonesboro High School | High School Musical 

The Collegiate School of Memphis | Non-Adjudicated Participant 

Tipton Christian Academy | Non-Adjudicated Participant 

Tipton-Rosemark Academy | SpongeBob the Musical 

White Station High School | Grease 

Whitehaven High School | Non-Adjudicated Participant 

Wynne High School | Roald Dahl's Matilda 


In order to participate in The Orpheum High School Musical Theatre Awards in any capacity, schools must register as a participating school by submitting an application. 

The Orpheum’s High School Musical Awards are open to all schools located within a 150 mile radius of The Orpheum Theatre in Memphis, Tennessee.

There is no fee to participate in The Orpheum High School Musical Theatre Awards.  We are committed to making our programs as accessible as possible.


If you are a student whose school currently does not participate but you wish to be a part of this program in our opening and closing numbers, please contact Lena Wallace Black at .


Please see the individual links listed on the side of this page about each way to participate for further information, important deadlines, and how to register. Please read these documents carefully as there are changes to the application process from last year.

Close Email Signup